Actions

Theater

From Stadtwiki Baden-Baden


Festspielhaus Baden-Baden
The theater at the Goetheplatz was erected in the middle of the 19th century. It is a theater with an own theater ensemble.

Building
Address Goetheplatz 

76530 Baden-Baden

Construction Date 1859-1862

Contact Data
Phone +49 (0)7221 / 932751
Fax +49 (0)7221 / 932755
E-Mail Official E-Mail
Website Official Website

Info
Opening 08.08.1862
Type Theater

Director Nicola May

Map
Loading map...

The Theater Baden-Baden was erected 1862 as a neo-baroque building in the style of the Paris Opera. Annually 50,000 visitors are attending 200 performances.[1] The theater is located at the Goetheplatz in Baden-Baden's Culture Mile.

History[edit]

In 1810 a new spa theater was inaugurated close to the location of today's Kurhaus. This wooden building was already torn down 10 years later, in order to give way to the new Conversation house. In the right wing of this Conversation house, today's Kurhaus, the architect Friedrich Weinbrenner established a theater. In the years 1853 to 1855 the casino tenant Edouard Bénazet had this rooms tranformed into pompous gambling rooms. Like that the theater lost once again its venue. It was decided to build a new one at the Goetheplatz. Under the influence of Bénazet the French Architect Charles Dérechy received the order to plan the new theater. The planning department of the state Baden under Heinrich Hübsch resisted the French fashion dictate. When Dérechy died in 1859 during the planning phase, the further planning was contracted to the local architect Ludwig Lang. But he failed as well and the theater was finally built by the architect Charles Couteau. On 8 August 1862 the new theater house was opened with the opera 'Béatrice and Bénédict' by the French composer Hector Berlioz, which was specially composed for this purpose.

With the gambling ban in 1872 the theater program changed as well. German ensembles, especially the Karlsruhe Court Theater, characterize the theater program.

Another important date for the theater is then the year 1918. After today's Bénazetsaal was set up as a big stage hall at the Kurhaus, it was desired to have an own municipal theater ensemble. In 1918 this wish became reality. Under the direction of Hans Waag the 40-strong ensemble started to work.

After the Second World War, the French occupation forces fostered Baden-Baden's cultural life. The theater was already reopened on 20 April 1946.

References[edit]

  • Manfred Söhner Baden-Baden. Kunst und Kultur entlang der Oos Aquensis Verlag Baden-Baden 2007, ISBN 978-3-937978-10-9 p. 44 et seq.
  • Helmuth Bischoff Baden-Baden. Die romantische Bäderstadt im Tal der Oos DuMont Buchverlag Köln 1996, ISBN 3-7701-3086-3 p. 123 et seq.

Footnotes:

  1. Visitor Count (de)

Aktionen

Theater Baden-Baden

Aus Stadtwiki Baden-Baden

(Weitergeleitet von Theater)

Das Theater Baden-Baden ist ein 1862 im Stil der Pariser Oper errichteter neobarocker Theaterbau. Zu den 200 Vorstellungen kommen jährlich rund 50.000 Besucher[1]. Das Theater liegt am Goetheplatz in der Baden-Badener Kulturmeile.

Geschichte[Bearbeiten]

Im Jahr 1810 wurde beim heutigen Kurhaus ein neues Kurtheater eingeweiht. Dieser zum größten Teil aus Holz bestehende Bau musste bereits 10 Jahre später dem neuen Conversationshaus weichen. Im rechten Flügel dieses Conversationshauses, dem heutigen Kurhaus, richtete Friedrich Weinbrenner einen Theatersaal ein. In den Jahren 1853-55 gestaltete der Spielbankpächter Edouard Bénazet diesen Flügel zu prunkvollen Spielsälen um und so musste für das Theater wieder ein neuer Spielort gefunden werden. Man entschloss sich zu einem Neubau am Goetheplatz. Unter dem Einfluss Bénazets wurde der französische Architekt Charles Dérechy mit der Ausgestaltung des Theaterbaus beauftragt. Die badische Bauverwaltung unter Heinrich Hübsch aber wehrte sich gegen das französische Modediktat. Als Dérechy 1859 noch in der Planungsphase starb, wurde die Planung an den heimischen Architekten Ludwig Lang übertragen. Doch auch dieser scheiterte und so errichtete schließlich der Architekt Charles Couteau den Theaterneubau. Am 8. August 1862 wurde das neue Theaterhaus mit der eigens zu diesem Zweck komponierten Oper 'Béatrice und Bénédict' des französischen Komponisten Hector Berlioz feierlich eröffnet.

Mit dem Spielbankverbot im Jahr 1872 ändert sich auch das Theaterprogramm. Deutsche Ensembles, vor allem das Karlsruher Hoftheater, prägen das Theaterprogramm der Kurstadt.

Für das Theater bedeutsam ist dann vor allem das Jahr 1918. Nachdem im Kurhaus der heutige Bénazetsaal als großer Bühnensaal eingerichtet worden war, erwuchs der Wunsch eines eigenen städtischen Theaterensembles. 1918 war es soweit und ein 40-köpfiges Ensemble nahm unter Leitung des Intendanten Hans Waag die Arbeit auf.

Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg förderte die französische Besatzungsmacht den Baden-Badener Kulturbetrieb und so nimmt auch das Theater bereits am 20. April 1946 seinen Betrieb wieder auf.

Quellen[Bearbeiten]

  • Manfred Söhner Baden-Baden. Kunst und Kultur entlang der Oos Aquensis Verlag Baden-Baden 2007, ISBN 978-3-937978-10-9 S. 44 ff.
  • Helmuth Bischoff Baden-Baden. Die romantische Bäderstadt im Tal der Oos DuMont Buchverlag Köln 1996, ISBN 3-7701-3086-3 S. 123 ff.

Einzelnachweise:

  1. Besucherzahl
Die Karte wird geladen …

Adresse

Goetheplatz 1
76530 Baden-Baden

Kontakt

Telefon: +49 (0)7221 932751
Fax: +49 (0)7221 932755
E-Mail: theater@baden-baden.de
Web: http://theater.baden-baden.de

Karte

Die Karte wird geladen …
Routenplaner